Posted in Daily tally, Uncategorized

Sunday night-What I’ve learned, What I’m learning

I’ve been doing this for about a month, this is, I think, my 32nd post.  And I see that much of this is beginning to feel less like “a diet” and more like normal everyday.  I see this as both fantastic, and a cause for a little bit of caution.  Knowing what I know about me, and my own tendencies, this is where, if I’m not vigilant and careful, I will get complacent.  So, I think now is the time to step up the learning process. Now’s when I need to start reading everything I can about the foods I’m eating, the ones I should eat more of, less of, etc.  Now’s the time to learn when to eat protein and what kinds, same with fats and carbs and all that, so I can make more deeply informed choices.

This is also the point where I’m beginning to feel a little impatient and frustrated with the slow going.  I lost 1 lb on last Monday’s weigh in, but I also started my period the day after, and I’m not looking forward to tomorrow’s weigh in for that reason.

So, tonight’s post is going to be about what I’ve learned so far.  First and most importantly, I already feel so much better that I may just end up exploding in a shower of amazing health sometime along the way!  Seriously, when I started, getting out of bed was one of my least favorite parts of the day because everything was so super stiff that some mornings, it took me several minutes to get from my bed to the bathroom.  This week I noticed that I am not at all stiff. I just wake up and hop out of bed (Ok, maybe not *hop* exactly, but you get my meaning. 🙂 ).  I’ve also learned that I have a lot more stamina than I did.  I live about 2 blocks, max, from our local library.  I mean, I can see it out my front door, for crying out loud.  When I would walk down there, I used to have to sit on the bench outside to catch my breath before I even went in, because that walk did me in. I can now do that walk, singing along with my mp3 player.  Yesterday, we went to the mall and walked around for a couple of hours (which I’ll talk a bit about in a sec), then last night I went grocery shopping with the hubby and walked around walmart for another hour.  I was a little stiff last night, but I feel pretty good today.

Now, other things I’m learning- I spent half an hour in Lane Bryant yesterday, looking at some very cute clothes, including a super cute hoodie and yoga capri outfit, and I left without buying anything.  I’m having a real issue letting myself buy clothes (I ended up, at Walmart last night, picking out a pretty cute set of clothes for my workouts, because I’m frowny at my motives), because that niggling little voice in the back of my head still thinks I don’t deserve nice things. Which is stupid, and something that I apparently need to work on a bit. 🙂

I also think gratitude is a pretty important part of my life right now.  I have so many great things to be thankful for, and that is the root motivator for me.  I want to be able to enjoy all the blessings and good things in my life, to the fullest extent possible.  Somedays that’s easier to remember than others, though.  Patience is apparently one of those virtues that I really need to work on. 🙂

Dailies:

My Food Diary

Water: 64 oz

Author:

Artist and owner of Bramblefae Boutique. I design whimsical jewelry, I like good writing and good games.

Leave a Reply

