Posted in Uncategorized

Sunday night-Let’s eat less junk

I am learning so much about the kind of crap I’ve spent years putting in my body. Some of it I still put in my body (like diet soda, although I have fierce limits, and will likely cut it out completely at some point, I think.), but I’m working at being more informed, so that I can make mindful decisions about it.

When I started this blog, sugar was easily the worst.  I drank TONS of sweet tea and Mountain Dew. I’m actually fairly frowny and slightly ashamed at how much sugar I went through (To be blunt, I went through a 5 lb bag of sugar a week, and I wasn’t baking.  In contrast, I think we bought a bag of sugar a month ago, and I don’t think it’s been used for anything but the teaspoon my hubby puts in his coffee).

For a long time, I used the excuse, “But I don’t like the way it tastes with sweetener.”  So, when I started this, I just quit drinking tea. I’ve had some hot tea here and there, but I quit drinking cold tea, so that I couldn’t use that as an excuse.  Oddly enough, I’m completely fine with Splenda in my coffee (and I am going to try Stevia, since everyone talks about it), which is good, because I do like the ritual of morning coffee.

I used to wake up in the morning and think, “I’m parched! I need a beverage!”.  This morning I woke up and thought, “I’m parched! I need a big ass glass of water!”

These are, I think, the really meaningful signs of progress, and they make me smile, and reaffirm that I’m doing the right thing for me.

~T

Author:

Artist and owner of Bramblefae Boutique. I design whimsical jewelry, I like good writing and good games.

One thought on “Sunday night-Let’s eat less junk

Leave a Reply

