Posted in Uncategorized

Monday and why I don’t like the word “Cheat”

I read a lot of healthy change success stories and weight loss stories and stuff because, well, it’s encouraging.  When people talk about how they lost x amount of weight, they all have pretty reasonable sounding routines and stuff, but a lot of them talk about giving themselves cheat-days, which is fantastic if that’s what works for them, but I can’t even let myself get started thinking like that.

See, to me, that thinking attaches a moral value to food, and while that obviously works for some people, it’s equally obviously not worked for me.  I am, in fact, still working at separating food from my own moral worth.  It’s easier now, but it’s still something I feel like I have to be very aware of because it’s also easy to fall back into old patterns.

So, I don’t and won’t have a “cheat day” because that makes it seem like anything I eat on that day is “bad”, therefore eating it makes ME “bad” and that’s crazy-talk.

There are choices, but those are all day, every day, and with regards to food, they’re neither good nor bad.  They’re maybe beneficial and not so much, and they’re only one choice.  If you look at each choice, then if you sometimes don’t choose the best choice for the long haul, that’s still ok, because you can make sure the next one is better.

I just think that, for me, giving myself a free for all day is just an invitation to binge, plus I would feel like utter ASS the next day and what’s the point of that?

Lastly, I weigh 365 pounds. I’ve lost 24 pounds so far, and I think I’m gonna start just saying how much I’ve lost every Monday (except on awesome milestones), but I may not either, so there. 🙂

Author:

Artist and owner of Bramblefae Boutique. I design whimsical jewelry, I like good writing and good games.

Leave a Reply

