Posted in Random stuff

Sunday night, and let’s not get bossy.

It’s been a nice weekend. I’m over the hormonal moody weirdness, and I’m content and making plans for my booth at the Summerfest thing here in my town, the first week of August.

This weekend, I’ve noticed a trend in the different healthy living Facebooks and blogs that I frequent.  There seems to be a lot of “There’s no magical pill for weight loss, there’s no wishing it away” which is true and I get behind that 100%, but then it goes on to, “The only real way that works is what I did.” and with some it even goes into, “I’m writing a book that tells you all about it.”

Ok, first- I get it. I get wanting to share your story with people, for the love of Pete, that’s what I’m doing, and I get it. It helps. Validation is a necessary part of being a human, Gods know I look forward to that part. *grin*

What I feel, more and more, is that there is no one universal way to be healthy.  What works for me, may or may not work for you, because we’re all different.  There are consistent truths, don’t get my wrong and I believe one of them is that each person needs to try different things and when something works, and adds to your health and well being then DO THAT.

I’m as guilty as the next person, sometimes, for comparing myself to other people’s progress and I’ve talked it here, even.  But when we start believing that we’re “doing it wrong” because someone who’s in a different set of life circumstances and a different body altogether says so…well, things need to be evaluated.

I’m not really talking about doctors or trainers or people who’re obviously knowledgeable about health and wellness and fitness in general.  I do, however, recommend not taking what they say at face value. Ask questions, and become active in your health, even in that manner.

Can you tell I’m getting myself psyched up for a visit to the Dr. ? *grin*

Have a good night folks, be awesome.

Author:

Artist and owner of Bramblefae Boutique. I design whimsical jewelry, I like good writing and good games.

Leave a Reply

