Posted in Inspiration

Thursday and I think I may be getting this.

Today I was thinking about eating (And in other news, water is wet.), and exercise, and moderation versus obsession.  The whole idea of moderation is of a give and take with one’s choices, I think.  This give and take enables one to find a balance, and in that balance, I think, lies total health.

The give and take has to be there, though. Like today, for example: Other than doing day three of the squat challenge, I’ve not done much in the way of physical movement, because it’s the one day a month that I try very hard to just rest, and be kind to my body…mostly in rebellion for how mean it’s being to me. *grin*  And while my calories are good, I’ve eaten a lot of comfort food today, so my salt intake is higher than normal, and so’s my sugar.  I could (and have, to a point) shrug and move on, or tomorrow, I could walk a little farther, or spend 30 minutes up and down my stairs (Far more likely, as hot as it is. :D).

I could lose 10 pounds a week for awhile by working out for 2 hours 6 days a week, and keeping to a 1200 calorie diet, or a no carb at all diet or something, I suppose.  But where’s the balance in that? The moderation?  I feel like I’m closer to figuring out the balance for me, and that’s when…not when things will get easier, I don’t think it works like that, but when the choices will be more clear, and I can be more mindful and less drill instructor-like.

On other notes-35 squats today, and putting lime slices in my water turns it into some sort of magical liquid of yum.

Have a great weekend everyone! I will be back on Sunday evening. 🙂

Author:

Artist and owner of Bramblefae Boutique. I design whimsical jewelry, I like good writing and good games.

2 thoughts on “Thursday and I think I may be getting this.

  1. You’re definitely on the right track, in my opinion, with the moderation theory. Trying to get results by short term changes never really works because if you can’t keep doing what you did to lose the weight you aren’t going to keep the weight loss.

    But you’ve got to have some things that are negotiable and permissable. If body says “hey, I really, really want a cookie, can I have a one please?” you ask body “would you be willing to do 30 minutes on the treadmill for that cookie so it doesn’t break your daily calorie target? because if so, then you can certainly have the cookie.” Body replies, “hmmm, 30 extra minutes? could we maybe just have half a cookie?” and you reply “Deal!” Thus the balance has been achieved 🙂

Leave a Reply

