Posted in Inspiration

Thursday and lots to do

I have discovered over the last few weeks, since I left school, that if I don’t give myself enough to do, I will get slothy. So, it’s a good thing, I think, that I go back to work on Wednesday.  Well, Monday, actually, I will start getting everything in order.

I wanted to put the word “work” in quotations up in that last paragraph, but I didn’t.  I’m having a bit of a problem with the fact that I work from home (I do freelance graphic design, and of course, my Etsy shop). This is real work, and when I’m working, I *easily* put in a 40 hour week. Easily. But because I do it from my living room (or patio, or kitchen table, or….heh), some of the people in my life act as if that means I’m free all day, whenever.

I had been irritable about it, but I think it’s at least partially my own fault for feeling apologetic about it myself. No, I don’t punch a clock, and no I don’t get paid by the hour, and yes, in fact, there are times that I don’t really get paid at all. This is part of getting my name and my brand out there.

I realized over my little vacation that this is the same principle in my head when I back away from good habits in favor of the comfy ones, that are not so good. These are remnants of a time when I felt apologetic pretty much for being alive. Heh.

I don’t feel that way now, haven’t in months, maybe longer, so now that I’ve identified that particular  remnant, I feel pretty good about getting back down to work-in every way.

Plus, once my kiddo goes back to school on Wednesday, I will be able to get back into a routine.  I laugh at myself that *that* is the part I’m looking most forward to.

Have a good weekend, folks. I’ll be around Sunday night. 😀

Author:

Artist and owner of Bramblefae Boutique. I design whimsical jewelry, I like good writing and good games.

2 thoughts on “Thursday and lots to do

Leave a Reply

