Posted in Inspiration

This takes so long…

I wanted to follow up on my post from Monday, and the idea that this “takes a long time”.  My wording was kind of misleading.  To say that something is taking a long time is to indicate an eventual end.

I think this is maybe part of why people gain weight back, or “give up”.  It’s the idea of a “diet” being a finite thing. Something with a clear beginning and clear end.

It’s also why I constantly tell myself and everyone else that I AM NOT ON A DAMN DIET.  I think that’s what was getting me down earlier in the summer-the idea that these changes are forever was slowly sinking in, and I had to let go of all sorts of “diet baggage”.

Here are some thoughts: “Don’t you wish you could eat whatever you want?” I get this a lot, oddly, and no one’s really satisfied with my answer.  I eat whatever I want, every day.  I’m sorry if you have someone else making your food choices for you. (But I’m willing to bet that if you’re above the age of like 10, you are mostly in charge of what you put in your mouth.)  I know what they mean is “Don’t you wish you could eat a whole pizza and wash it down with ice cream every day?” No, not really, but I didn’t want that when I was supposedly “eating whatever I wanted”.

Here’s the thing-I’m not losing fat and gaining health because I’ve sworn I’ll never eat ice cream again (Apparently I need to have some ice cream. :p). Not only is that kind of attitude silly, for me restrictions just make that the only thing in the world I want, because my psyche is a spoiled 12 year old. :p

I can tell you that there are some things I will never eat again (McDonald’s, for one), because either it’s 1)Not really food, or 2)is just not worth the after effects. By that I just mean things that my body pretty much rejects.

I am discovering that I like the way real food tastes, and that more artificial stuff is tasting that way. I had a bowl of Cap’n Crunch the other evening as my snack….and it kinda tasted like ass.  Which made me sad for about 2 minutes, as that was my favorite cereal. 😀

The thing is, I figure I’ll always be watching what I eat, and how and how it relates to my daily life.  I also figure that most folks do that without having to make a big song and dance about it.

It boils down to this: I hope this path I’m on takes a really long time, because it’s going to last my whole life.  And I not only don’t feel like I’m depriving myself of anything, I feel like I have more access to truly living life.

For me, this is the way to go.

Have a great weekend everyone, I will be back on Sunday night. 🙂

Author:

Artist and owner of Bramblefae Boutique. I design whimsical jewelry, I like good writing and good games.

One thought on “This takes so long…

  1. Refreshing. Thank you for putting this out there, I couldn’t agree more. People also ask me all the time about why I eat healthy. I eat what I want, it’s all about REAL foods. And balance. I eat a fresh salads, whole grains, but you better believe I also make a mean chocolate chip cookie.

Leave a Reply

