Posted in Inspiration

Why I am not weighing myself this week.

I go on at fairly great length about how I am not on a diet. And I’m not, it’s true. I’m making changes and turning them into habits that will stand me well for the rest of my life.

There are lots of things that are habits that weren’t when I started-the biggest being that if I’m thirsty, water is the FIRST thing I go for. Lots of different habits in the way I approach food in general. And some of that is rubbing off on my gents as well-I put “elbow noodles” on the grocery list (My kiddo like mac and cheese and I make it sometimes), and hubby picked up whole wheat elbows. 🙂

Obviously, there are still lots of things to work on, but life is like that and I consider it all good and worth working on, you know?

But that scale…That scale, and those numbers…I’ve been letting them make me feel like I’m on a diet. Like those numbers have to say a certain thing, or else I am failing.  I’ve forgotten that they are a tool, nothing more-a tool like MFP to *help* me gauge my progress (in all things) and to help me make sure I’m going the right direction.

Know how I know I need to step back and look at the scale differently? When I told myself I wasn’t going to weigh myself this week-I literally panicked. Racing heart, everything.

“HOW WILL I LOSE WEIGHT IF I DON’T WEIGH MYSELF 47 TIMES A WEEK?!?!”

Well, frankly, that freaking attitude is bullshit. And I’d been weighing myself as punishment for the last couple months. Weighing myself at the end of a day, weighing myself if I ate something I thought was “Wrong”, that sort of crap.

It’s *hard* to take back the power we give to negative things and thoughts and ideas. So this is me, taking it back.

Instead, this week (and maybe this month, we’ll see) I am focusing on doing things that make me feel good-physically good, like walking and moving my body in fun ways, and mentally good, like researching my town’s history, and making jewelry, and emotionally good, like hanging out with my kiddo and smooching on my husband.

These are all the reasons I want to be as healthy as I can, and this week I’m going to focus on reminding myself of all that, while I eat all the awesome end of summer fruits and veggies, and take a bunch of selfies on Instagram, and just love myself out loud. 🙂

Author:

Artist and owner of Bramblefae Boutique. I design whimsical jewelry, I like good writing and good games.

Leave a Reply

