Posted in Inspiration

Good Enough?

“It’s good enough.” “Who’m I trying to impress, anyway?”

No, it’s not good enough, and you need to be impressing yourself.  I really have this issue where I want everyone (including people I don’t like and don’t generally want around me) to love me and everything I do. I want them to tell me that I am a precious snowflake and give me a gold star.

Yet, I teach my teenager that we should not be rewarded, per se, for doing the bare minimum.  “Kiddo, you don’t get cookies for doing what you’re supposed to.”

And yet.

I saw a post in a Facebook group I belong to (one completely unrelated to fitness and health-in fact it’s a Viking era re-enactment group. *grin*), in which a woman spoke pretty eloquently about what “good enough” means and how that was nice for some people, but the group was striving for a good deal better than good enough.  And I’ve been thinking.

I’ve spent the summer a lot of frustrated out loud about lots of things, but some of it boils down to the fact that I’ve been telling myself that what I’m doing is “good enough”. And I keep seeking approval for that attitude.

Which is horseshit, obviously.

After a conversation with someone I’m pretty fond of, I also realized that I really need to either stop trying to impress other people, or work harder at impressing myself.

Because good enough isn’t cutting it.

 

I walked today-a mile, and I don’t know why I have such a hard time with that.  I enjoy the walk itself, I enjoy how I feel after, and it just sets a good tone for my day.  But getting my ass out that door in the morning…Well, it’s just time to tackle that again.

See, I want better for myself.

The longer I go, the more I learn, and the more I believe that the hardest part to lasting habit changes is really learning to stop fighting with and sabotaging yourself.  How long have I been living with the “Eh, it’s good enough” attitude?

So, it looks to be a really good week, I think.

Maplething

Here’s a bit of random: We have these bushes along our sideyard, and yesterday my hubby took this little Maple tree out if it.  It was trying pretty hard to grow, but the bushes were going to choke it out, poor thing.

 

Author:

Artist and owner of Bramblefae Boutique. I design whimsical jewelry, I like good writing and good games.

One thought on “Good Enough?

Leave a Reply

