Posted in Inspiration

Designing a Purpose-Filled Life

This year has been a year of pretty big change in my life, in several different ways, as the two of you who regularly read my blather will know *grin*, but when I saw this image, it really kind of hammered home for me how deep some of the changes have been.

553207_545179202228243_1073237907_n

This has really been a year of my husband and I learning about people, and friendships and what that means to us versus what it means to other people.

When I started, out loud, this journey toward a healthier life, I realized pretty quickly that there were a couple of people in my life that I had to step away from if I was going to be successful at all. Everyone knows the kind of people who are just walking clouds of negativity and mean-ness. That was just a given, and would have eventually happened either way. It’s the drawback to surrounding yourself with people who don’t like you (Which I did for a long time-makes it easier not to like yourself, yeah?).

I hadn’t realized how hard it was going to be to be diplomatic about how to say some of the rest of this.

There’s an old saying about how when times are rough you find out who your friends really are.  We have found this pretty true this year.  We also learned a lot about people when hubby’s work schedule was changed.  For the first time, pretty much, he was having to tell people no when they called to ask him to do something for them.  Then, they stopped calling at all, some people.

Eh, *shrug* Before this post gets bitter, I just want to say that it kind of leaves the hubby and I in an interesting place in our lives-a place where this image really makes sense to us.

We’ve changed over this last year, it’s true. The big difference between us and some of the people in our lives-we don’t think it’s a bad thing.  It’s a sad thing, a little, because we miss people, but we get it.

On a completely different, definitely #firstworldproblems kind of level-I am wearing a pair of leggings (It’s a work from home day) that are baggy. And the stairs are going well. 🙂

Have a good night, folks.

Author:

Artist and owner of Bramblefae Boutique. I design whimsical jewelry, I like good writing and good games.

Leave a Reply

