Posted in Inspiration, Uncategorized

What happens when you’re snowed in

 

Out my front door on Sunday. :)
Out my front door on Sunday. 🙂

Whoa, snow.  I don’t know how it is elsewhere, but we got a crapton of snow, and then it became Siberia.

So, I figured today was as good a day as any to talk about what to do when you legitimately can’t get to your usual workout.  I’ve not gone on my walk for several days now-not so much because of the cold (I know how to layer, etc), but because of there being just so much snow, and even though I live right in town, the roads are still snow covered and I’m just the person who’d bust my ass in a pile of snow somewhere.

This was yesterday. Gorgeous, but COLD.
This was yesterday. Gorgeous, but COLD.

So, I am going to the ever handy stairs I have right in my house.  Improvising is kind of a must, I think, because situations change. You can’t always get to the gym, or whatever your normal workout routine is, but I know that I am all too quick to say, “Welp. No help for it, I guess today’s an unscheduled rest day.”  It’s something I’m working on, so I am assuming it’s something someone else is working on, too.

When I first started, back in March, I was still afraid of trying to walk a full mile.  I mean, I literally had to “recover” the day after going grocery shopping because just the act of walking around the grocery store made my back hurt and my ankles hurt.  So what I did was I would spend 20 minutes walking from my front door to my back door.  I have an old house, so it’s pretty much a straight shot, but it’s doable in any house or apartment. Pick a length and a duration and do that. Wear a backpack full of books if you want a challenge (I have 2.5 lb ankle weights that I’ll wear like bracers, myself. *grin*).

Seriously, and this is more for me than it is for any of you, there really is no reason you (or I), can’t work 15 minutes of walking up and down the stairs, or back and forth through the house, or get in some quick squats.

I don’t know how it is for you folks, but for me, “I can’t.” almost always really means, “I don’t want to try.” And I’m working hard this year to change that attitude.

Author:

Artist and owner of Bramblefae Boutique. I design whimsical jewelry, I like good writing and good games.

One thought on “What happens when you’re snowed in

Leave a Reply

