Posted in Inspiration

Depression and why I advocate sunshine

It’s been a minute hasn’t it?  I kind of left everything on pause there for a bit, but I think I’m good now, or at least better. Here in the Midwest, I would like to let it be known that I am pretty well done with the idea of snow. Dear gods, let’s have some green, growing things, yeah?

I’ve talked a little bit before about my own dealings with anxiety and depression, and I thought quite a bit about just glossing over this and picking back up here on the blog.  I think that might be a bit of a disservice, though, to anyone who may be having a similar time.

For me, depression is not so much a sadness, as it is an utter absence of feeling.  And it’s kind of hard to figure out what to do to get back into life, sometimes.  I firmly believe that this time of year (In the Northern hemisphere, other way around for southern hemisphere folks) is HARD on everyone, but more so on people who spend the rest of the year working to maintain some level of normalcy that works for them.

In the last week, I’ve started seeing more sunshine, and that has made the biggest difference to me.  Even if it’s 5 degrees Fahrenheit outside, if the sun is shining in your window onto your face, it makes the day A LOT easier.  For me, at least.

I’ve spent this last week pep talking myself and thinking about ways to get more active again, and I feel ready and encouraged for the first time in weeks, so I know that it’s time to get back to work.

Today, for me, will be a day of action-of getting things going again and of being good to me.  I hope you, too, spend the day being good to you.

~T

Author:

Artist and owner of Bramblefae Boutique. I design whimsical jewelry, I like good writing and good games.

Leave a Reply

